Sunday, October 27th, 2013 (Part 1)

Remember how I told you about how I was feeling so hopeful earlier this week? Well, forget about all that. Today I’m feeling nothing but hungover disappointment and hopelessness. Funny how things can change so quickly. Let me back up for you.

Last night was Halloween. Well, not actually Halloween. But the 31st is in the middle of the week this year, so everyone celebrated last night. We’ll probably all celebrate again come Thursday. Which is nice. More chances to wear that costume I spent so much time working on this week.

I’ve never really done Halloween big in the past. You know that I’m not a fan of going out on these drinking holiday nights (like St Patrick’s Day, New Year’s Eve, Fourth of July, etc). Bars are always overpriced and super crowded. You can’t stand anywhere without having ten people pressing in on you and breathing their hot, stinky drunk fumes down your neck. And getting to the bar to order a drink is nearly impossible. Then the nightmare of getting home is just unbearable…

But my friend Amber was having a house party and inviting all of our friends over. House parties I can do. Especially when I’m not the one hosting. I got right to work coming up with a costume. (I was not going to have a repeat of our Halloween a couple of years ago. We had waited until the last minute to decide to go out and had gone as Thing 1 and Thing 2, costumes we made day-of that were half-assed if anything and not very cute, especially since we’re both pretty creative gays.) This year I was going to do it right. I was going to plan ahead and go as Robin, boy wonder. Not a super original costume, especially for the gays, but I already owned a green Speedo, and my legs were looking fierce. That was like half the costume right there.

My idea changed, though, a week before the party. I was talking with Amber one day, telling her about my costume idea and she got confused, thinking I was going as Robyn, the Swedish pop singer and gay spirit animal.

You’ll agree, that’s a WAY better idea. So now I was going to be Robyn. It would take a little more time. Require a few more supplies and a trip to Michaels. Also some actual crafting skills. But I certainly had the free time to work on it and I was excited about it. A little DIY never hurt anybody.

I actually figured out the construction of the costume pretty quickly. I decided to re-create her look from the Call Your Girlfriend Video. I ordered some white running tights online and painted them all these different bright colors. I bought a blonde bob wig and had my roommate cut it down for me. (There was fake hair everywhere!) I found this really amazing yarn that had a hairlike texture to it and got a hot glue gun and went to town on a T-shirt, draping and gluing the yarn over every bit of the shirt. I spent days with that glue gun, burning my fingers over and over again. Ruining my lower back as I leaned over and glued on the floor for hours at a time.

But when it was all said and done, I looked pretty amazing. There’s nothing like a DIY project done right.

Leave a Reply

